Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    This is my first time using the PC, or any machine polisher. I purchased the 7424 last year (Aug 09), and have spent a large amount of time reading about the proper techniques. I finally felt like I`d learned enough and began working on my car a few days ago. I did a few test spots, and they turned out great. Today I began to do full panels, and this happened...

Needless to say this was caused by too much heat. How did this happen? I tried to be as careful as possible to not use too much pressure. I`m already worried enough about damaging the paint as it is. :grinno:

These are the 6.5 LC pads, with the 5in plate. The PC only came with the 5in counter weight, so that is what was on the machine.

Did I do something wrong?

I did some research before posting this ( as you should ), and I see that the LC pads are now reinforced. http://www.autopia.org/forum/autogee...da-design.html

What sucks is I only finished the hood, and fender then this happened. I can`t use the car until I get it done, and I need to wait for a new backing plate.
    2005 Aspen White STi

Post Thanks / Like
    Yes there were problems with the old LC backing plates. I switched to Meg`s with no problems. I know that your not happy, but be thankful it didn`t damage your paint like what happened to me.

Post Thanks / Like
    What happened with yours?

Link to the backing plate you use?
    2005 Aspen White STi

Post Thanks / Like
    My 5" backing plate tore off at the rivets like yours and my 4" backing plate melted off.

AMG Classic Car Detailing Old Pirate's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rusker, Sorry to hear that happen to you where did you get it from? maybe they can help you out in a replacement for you.
    AutopiaForums is the place to be.
    Remember to Shop Autopia-CarCare.com for your Detailing Needs!

Post Thanks / Like