Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    I have been lurking here as well as Autogeek for the better part of the last month. I have some detail experience and am looking at getting a Random Orbital to replace my rotary. I am currently looking at the new Griots, Cyclo and the Flex 3401.

It seems that there is not much talk about the cyclo? I know it looks like the Flex is king but I am on the fence if that is the way to go due to the price. If I get the griots I can get pads and products for the price of a new flex.

Anyone have any real experience with the cyclo? How much correction can be done with the cyclo compared to the griots or the flex?

Thanks for your input.
    I`m just an average guy that takes care of my cars!

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wn1998
    It seems that there is not much talk about the cyclo? I know it looks like the Flex is king but I am on the fence if that is the way to go due to the price...

If there`s any way to swing the price, I`d go Flex (and I have a scad of different polishers). That forced rotation it has really makes a difference.

Anyone have any real experience with the cyclo? How much correction can be done with the cyclo compared to the griots or the flex?

I`ve used Cyclos since the mid-`80s (and man are they durable).

I don`t have the Griot`s (yet, expecting one for Christmas ), but the Flex simply outclasses the Cyclo when it comes to serious correction. Also, sometimes the Cyclo`s single speed becomes a limitation.

When machines like the Griot`s (I only have experience with the PC when it comes to this kind of polisher) are fitted with 4" pads, they actually do *more* aggressive correction than the Cyclo, which sorta surprised me. It`s enough of a diff that with the PC/4" you need to be more careful by far than with the Cyclo (which is nearly idiot-proof).