Thread: Look Ma no DA!!

Post Thanks / Like
    O.K. so I am a professional detailer, and mobile detail business blah blah blah... I just started getting into the jeweling process, as this is the only thing I have not mastered yet!!!! Ive been trying it more and more lately on test panels and on family members cars, and I always end up with very very very faint swirls, I mean almost to the point where you have to dance around the car to see them, and thats after IPA wipedown, all rotary no DA.. So my question is what can I do to correct this? Longer jeweling process? More product less product? Prime the pad better? Less pressure? Any advice from the pros would be nice!! thanks in advance

The project was a 2008 Ford Taurus (non metalic black). It was covered in water spots and etchings everywhere, and I mean everywhere, due to sprinklers...

Decontamination:

1. wash (foam gun, two buckets/ grit gaurds, two wool mits

2. clay (meguiars aggressive)

3. degrease ( 4:1 in the foam gun)

4. IPA (1:1)

Buffing:

5. rotary, wool, m105, 1500 rpm, 1 pass, left to right top to bottom, moderate pressure, slow arm speed, 1.5` x 1.5` area, IPA ( this removed the etchings and cleaned the paint perfectly, but of corse left nasty swirls, trails, and holos)

6. rotary, flex heavy polishing pad, m105, 1500 rpm, left to right top to bottom, 1 pass, moderate pressure, slow arm speed, slow arm speed 1.5` x 1.5` area, IPA ( thise refined some of those nasty swirls, trails, and holos, and made them not as bad)

7. rotary, flex light polishing pad, m83, 1500 rpm, moderate pressure, left to right top to bottom, drop down to 900 rpm, machine weight, left to right top to bottom, slow arm speed 1.5` x 1.5` area, IPA ( this removed the nasty holos and trails, but left light maring to the surface)