Post Thanks / Like
    Hi there.

Im quite new to machine polishing. I have polished about 10 cars or so with a cotech machine. Kinda the same as cyclo machine only much cheaper and probably not as good.. Im using cyclo pads for it and the results have been rather good.

But I would like to step it up a notch, Because the cotech polisher isn`t a killer when it comes to removing imperfections on the paint.. It just isn`t cutting enough it seems like. but it is exellent on lighter swirls and so.

So now I`m stepping up a notch and buying the flex 3401 VRG DA and see if this can give me any better results. Hopefully it will since its quite expensive IMO. And I`m also buying a makita rotary since from what I read this is one of the machines that give the best result, But ofcourse is harder to use than a DA machine.

But here`s to my questions..

I have a black 95 supra TT and a black VW passat 05 TDI 4Motion and I know if I just started using a rotary on them I know it would turn into FUBAR. But what I would like to know is.

What is the best way to learn to detail the best.. Should I do like I said.. buy the flex and learn from that machine and then use a rotary or should I just buy the makita and keep going on scrap panels until im satisfied with the results and then jump on it and try on a "real car". Any input on what I should start off with and what not.

and is it the rotary that gives the best result, or can you achieve the same with a DA. I know the rotary is better on severe paint imperfections, But if you can remove the imperfections with a DA would you get the same result, or is the rotary superior in all categories as long as it is used right. ?

Any inputs from experienced detailers are higly appreciated. I have a good amount of money to spend on machines so that is not an issue. But I would like to learn how to do it right instead of just throw money down the drain and ending up with a bad result.