Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    THE FLEX XC 3401 VRG POLISHER REVIEW by WK446

Version 1.01 Last Updated 07-10-03

Well, my Flex XC 3401 VRG finally arrived and thankfully with the black (vs. red) backing plate. Kudos go out to the board members that sourced the unit out and provided information to assist others. Even though I`m fairly new to Autopia, I have been detailing for 15+ years as a hobby. I have the following polishers that I can compare directly, namely the Makita 9227, Porter Cable 7424, and the Metabo PE12-175 (currently on hiatus).

First, some photos of the Flex:

DESCRIPTION

The Flex XC 3401 VRG is a dual action (DA) polisher but has an operating speed up to 480 RPM and a powerful motor. Dual action polishers are safer for use on automobile paint because they do not operate in the same fashion as a rotary polisher. The most popular DA polisher is the Porter Cable 7424. Due to the Flex`s construction, it can correct more difficult paint imperfections which were the sole domain of the rotary polisher while at the same time, offer the "safety blanket" of DA polishers.

PACKAGING CONTENTS

The Flex comes with the following items: manual, service documentation, general safety guide, hex wrench, 2 additional bolts.

BUILD QUALITY AND WEIGHT

The Flex is very well built and the quality of the construction materials is first rate. The Flex is made in Germany. In order of build quality, with the best quality to the right, I would rate them subjectively as:

Porter Cable -> Makita/Metabo (tie) -> Flex

The weight of the unit, somewhat surprised me. In order of lightest to the heaviest, the scale is as follows:

Porter Cable 7424 -> Metabo PE 12-175 -> Makita 9227 -> Flex XC 3401 VRG.