Thread: 7424 vs 7428??

Allen_B
    Post Thanks / Like
    The wealth of information here is amazing! I am venturing into the PC realm and interested in the opinions from the "Pros" that have used both PCs.

I am a true novice, but I believe in time leverage. As near as I can tell, the 7424 random is "safer" for most uses (for the average/novice user) with the `28 more of a "pro" use tool giving better/quicker results- if you know what you`re doing.

Is that a fair summary?

As I said, I am by no means a pro but I was thinking of going with the `28. My concern is that I get the impression that it takes more talent/skill to safely use. Since I will not be using the tool every day to gain the experience, would the `24 be a better bet?

Another minor point, I will be working on several dark cars, not the least of which is my black `02 Camaro convertable.

Thanks in advance!

Allen

Post Thanks / Like
    I would definitely recommend you stick with the dual action (24). It`s used by a huge percentage of people on this site with great results. In the future if you feel you need to move faster or have deeper marring you want to remove you can get a rotary and keep the DA. I now use a rotary for almost all marring removal, but still use the DA for finishing every single detail; it`s really an invaluable tool even just in that regard; nevermind that it can be used for marring removal with excellent results.

That`s all aside from the fact that the DA is almost idiot proof in terms of paint damage potential, while the rotary damage potential is ever present, especially for inexperienced users.
    Click here to see what I`ve been working on, or here to see my YouTube page!

Post Thanks / Like
    Allen,

I have the 7428 and like it a lot. The machine has good power and is nicely balanced. I like the handle over instead of to the side.