Post Thanks / Like
    I am looking at getting into detailing part-time but want to do top level work. Toward that end, I am considering buying a rotary buffer. I`ve never used either orbital or rotary - I am a complete newbie to machine polishing. One person advised me to get the Makita Two Mode Polisher since it has both but is priced about the same as buying BOTH a PC 7424 and Dewalt 849.

If you have a rotary do you still need a PC? If so, then it might make sense to get the PC first and play until I can "graduate" to the rotary.

Any insight as to what to buy?

Post Thanks / Like
    I was curious about the makita (still sort of am), but after researching it, I get the impression that it doesn`t quite become a genuine rotary. It still has some `orbit` to it even in circular mode. That may make it a little easier to use, but if that is the case, it won`t be as effective as a rotary in skilled hands.

Now the only reason to get the Makita then would be if it`s DA mode is on par with the PC. Can`t help you there. But Makita is an excellent brand so I would like to assume that it has enough power. Especially if it poses as a rotary on occasion.

"If you have a rotary do you still need a PC?"

The answer is no. The answer is you actually don`t even need a machine. They can still be done by hand, albeit for a loooong time.

However, they can make life easier, and they speed up the process. Therefore, if time is a factor like for most people here, the machines start to become a necessity. If you have customers that desire `hand-polishing` and don`t mind paying you for your time, then that is the only scenario where I see machine-less detailing a viable option.