Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Glass Cleaner

Post Thanks / Like
    I have a friend who bought a 328i, and he has no idea how to clean the car. I have lots of experience, but not to the level of most on this forum. My experience has been limited to mostly the Mothers and Meguiars product lines. Knowing my friend, he will not spend 8 hours in the driveway detailing, so I need something simple. In other words, I`d like a two-step process for the paint. A cleaning step, and a protecting step. Here is what I`d like to recommend to him:

1. Paint Cleaner

2. Easy to use Paint Protectant (wax, polymer, etc.)

Previously, I would recommend Mothers Pre-Wax cleaner or Meguiars #2 Hi-Tech Cleaner, followed by Mothers Pure Carnuaba wax or Meguiars #26 Yellow wax. The car is located in the New England area, and I would wager that he would be willing to detail the car maybe once every couple of months. I have read lots of good info. on Zaino and Klasse, among other products, but I am not sure which exact product would be best if using a two-step process. In addition, I have only used waxes. I have no knowledge at all of any other synthetic products that use polymers, acrylics, etc.

Also, can anyone recommend:

1. Low gloss tire dressing

2. Something to polish and protect metal exterior trim (i.e. window trim)

3. Glass cleaner

4. Synthetic chamois or equivalent product for drying vehicle

5. Wax applicator (pad, etc.)

6. Wax remover (towels. etc.)

7. Quick detailer

I think I have the rest under control, with either 303 or Vinylex for the interior trim. Lexol for the leather. Meguiars Gold for the wash. Mothers or other clay bar for pre-clean.

Well, that`s all! ;-) Thanks in advance for you help. I am way out of touch with today`s cleaning products. I used to detail cars during summers when I was in College. I`d charge $120 a car, did 2 or 3 a week, and had a blast doing it. However, that was a while ago, so I am sure the products have come a long way.