Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Leather Care

Post Thanks / Like
    I have also used lexol products for years on my cars and coats and have never had a smell issue, I am an auto mechanic and the biggest cause of "stinky leather" I have found is sweat.(for example, in my town car the A/C went out, I drove it for 2 days(5 miles each way to work and back)before I fixed it, now, I am not big or unusually sweaty but it took almost a year for it to smell "normal" after 20 miles of summer driving with no A/C..My only other thought is, are you using a "damp" or "wet" rag to apply the cleaner??

Post Thanks / Like
    is it truly the boot? or is the smell coming from under the car as you drive and just drifting up through the boot? There is also a seal in the floor around the cable that keeps water etc. out of the car, if that`s ripped the boot may get wet underneath while driving in wet conditions...

Honorary Master Detailer
    Post Thanks / Like
    Dan Great question!

First lets define for the other detailers what is Aniline Leather.

Aniline Leather is colored all the way through with a transparent dye. The effect is applied by immersing the leather in a dye bath. Because the finish is transparent and shows the natural markings of the leather, only the best quality hides can be used.

99% of the exotic or high end cars I work with have top rated quality leather, such as Italian leather. Now you also have the lesser quality leather on the non exotics. Which they fit into this category Finish leather: Which is any enhancing effect applied to leather after it has been tanned. Examples are dyeing, embossing, buffing, antiquing, waxing, waterproofing, and so on. I have work with cars with less then 10 years old and the leather is torn and had to be replace.