Post Thanks / Like

Any Tips/Tricks For Heavily Soiled Cloth Seats?!

To make a long story short...the vehicle is a Chevy 15 passenger van purchased w/ out the rear seats. Rear seats (cloth) were later obtained from a local auto salvage yard to put in the van but they are...well, not in the greatest shape (stains, smells, etc.) The fabric itself looks salvageable but being a complete rookie I’m just not sure what the best plan of attack would be.

I was hoping to get to it this weekend since it looks like the weather will be warm and sunny in case it’s reccommeded that I break out the pressure washer or something similar. I’m not a pro but I do have some of the more basic stuff on hand. Your help would greatly be appreciated!

NorCal.. Avatar = Swan Lake, Hallstatt, Austria
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Any Tips/Tricks For Heavily Soiled Cloth Seats?!

Welcome to the Forum , 317 -

Tell us what you already have in the way of Cleaners? Do you have any All Purpose Cleaners, like from Meguiars, etc., ?

I would spray them with Meguiars APC+ or the newer Orange product, brush carefully to get it into the fabric, and then Steam them, and Rinse and Extract them.
    But that is because I have all those tools..

It is not a good thing to get too much water into interior seat foam, because those foams will soak the water up and be very bad about giving it up after..

Of course, if you set them out in the sun for awhile, that will help get them dried if they get too wet..

So, tell us what you have in the way of cleaners that are safe for cloth, and we can go from there ok ?
    Dan F
    Likes 317 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

317- Welcome to Autopia!

Hope the smells aren`t related to stuff that`s *really* hard...as in, practically impossible.. to remediate, like Mouse Urine. Once certain things happen to certain materials (synthetic fabrics, foam) that`s sometimes all she wrote.