Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GPS Car Units

The Man Who Knows The Man
    Post Thanks / Like

GPS Car Units

After searching it appears that the last time this topic was discussed in any depth was JP`s thread back in `09 and his interest was specifically hand held, so....what say you?

From what little research I`ve done, it appears that Garmin and Tom Tom are the 2 most recommended brands. I`ll admit that I am new to this technology so my search criteria is pretty raw and thus someone more knowledgeable than myself could probably tell me why I need to consider other features.

Basically,

O Need it to be portable, will be moved from vehicle to vehicle
    O Screen size - I think I would prefer at least a 4.3" screen - I don`t know about the 5".
    O Spoken street names - I`m pretty certain about this requirement as I will likely be in heavy trafficed industrial/urban areas. Will need to use all my visual faculties keeping an eye on other drivers who are distracted.
    O I see some units have lifetime "Live Traffic" option. I`ve read mixed reviews regarding the actual benefit of this feature. Any ideas.
    O Price: Since this is my first unit and I`m not totally certain about the cost/benefit ratio I want to keep this below $150 if at all possible. I am open and could be persuaded that I need to go higher but I`m thinking right now $200 would be tops and there would have to be a pretty darned good explanation as to how I would benefit.

As always, thanks in advance for your thoughts/comments.
    "If you get to thinkin` you`re a person of some influence, try orderin` somebody else`s dog around."
    --Will Rogers

Acrylic Paint Conditioner Gus-Gus's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: GPS Car Units

Wish you would have brought this up sooner.. the Garmin Nuvi 1390 was on sale with free shipping at Meijer for 150 bucks.. it came with lifetime map upgrades and lifetime traffic..

closest deal i could find is this