Re: Random thoughts thread

First gen of CD players as about 1984.
    Likes Stokdgs liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Chesky records?

Manchester CT?

Larry Chesky?
    Formerly the "Best Detailer", now just Super Wax Waster Man. Not necessarily tactful, but normally right. It`s good to be da King !!!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Accumulator View Post
    Any old farts here (like me) who remember the sticker shock when CD`s first came out?
    I can. I had only one friend whose parents were wealthy enough to have a CD player in their stereo system. Actually there were one of the only families wealthy enough to have a stereo system too... They also had a humble collection of some great CDs; stuff like Stevie Ray Vaugh, Eric Clapton, and some classical albums. It was always an event to just sit and listen for an hour or so.

When I graduated from High School several years later, I used ALL of the money I was given as graduation gifts to buy my first portable stereo with a built-in CD play and two CD`s. I wanted to make sure I had some good tunes in the college dorm.

Post Thanks / Like

I think it is David Chesky and out of NYC. May have been CT at one time.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Setec Astronomy View Post
    Are you talking about the discs or the players?
    My first auto CD players (forget the brand(s) had `em in Benzes in the early `80s) required a plastic sleeve that you put the CD into, then *that* was inserted in the player.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by DBAILEY View Post
    First gen of CD players as about 1984.
    Yeah, that`s about right..well, IIRC...

Post Thanks / Like

They have relatives that did Polka bands?
    Formerly the "Best Detailer", now just Super Wax Waster Man. Not necessarily tactful, but normally right. It`s good to be da King !!!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Ronkh View Post
    They have relatives that did Polka bands?