Post Thanks / Like

Re: Random thoughts thread

My random thought for the day:
    "Professional" detailers who work in car dealerships, used car lots, or "quantity" detail shops that do contract/outsourced work for dealerships do NOT get any respect or appreciation within this forum for the services they provide.
    OK, I rag on them myself because their "workmanship" (hence, the quotations as "professionals") is less than Autopian-quality standards. BUT they do have to work with the time allotted to them and the equipment and car-care products and chemicals provided to them and their training and methodologies and techniques are usually self-taught or by a less-than-qualified supervisor or department manager. Let`s face it: at these places time is money.
    My hats off to those of you who do work at such places and do the best you can with what you have. It`s not an easy job or profession.
    I will get my "dig" in, though, because I know some of you as truly professional detailers or capable hobbyists make good money correcting and fixing less-than-acceptable vehicle details for discriminating (very picky, like myself) owners done by some dealership or car lot "detailers" and I (and some of you Autopians reading this) have referred to them as "hacks". That`s probably unjustified and totally wrong on my part, simply for the reasons mentioned above, and if I had to do their job with the bosses, time, equipment, and car-care products provide them I ask myself, "Could I have done a better job?" Probably not. Sometimes you need to be considerate of the situation yourself before you apply the label. My apology for doing so to some of you .
    (I will say "some" because there ARE hacks out there, but then that`s oxymoronic and self-deprecating to this whole post, now isn`t it. If you need to look up the meaning to those words, do so. You`ll understand, then ,why I used them. Just sayin`...)
    GB detailer
    Likes trashmanssd liked this post

Post Thanks / Like