102. You may not vote on this poll
  • Nikon

42 41.18%
  • Canon

60 58.82%
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Nikon vs. Canon

Post Thanks / Like
    I figured since everyone uses cameras here. I`m sure I can get some expert advice on which brand to look further into. I am most likely just be doing still shots outdoors.

I prefer nothing crazy amount of money.

Does anyone know of a good forum for camera selling/learning?

I am pretty new to it all. I would like to learn and get a nice camera body with a lens to start with and ease my way up to a nicer lens.

So lets hear everyones input.

Thanks guys

- Andrew

Post Thanks / Like
    This poll`s going to open up a can o worms! Canon vs Nikon is this topic to stay away from. :soscared:

But since you asked, I have a Canon 30D and a bunch of lenses. The lens that I use for detailing is a 28mm fixed lens that gives me great clarity and is very crisp. As far as which lens to get, it all depends what kind of photography you will be doing. Long, short, fast, sports, kids, portraits, etc. Each will have its recommended lenses and uses. If you can find a 30D kit, (around the $1300 range) it will come with the 28-135mm lens which I like and have as well. But, my all-around choice for lens is the 17-85mm IS (image stabilization). If the 30D is not in budget, start off with the Rebel XTI, 10MP and use the kit lens (18-55mm) to start. The good thing with DSLRs is that you can always upgrade body/lens and keep the other.