Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pad Help Please

Post Thanks / Like

Pad Help Please

This pad is a griots pad. I have used this pad on three cars. It was on the third car that the edge of the backing began to peel away. The cars were done about 4 weeks apart from each other. First time I washed the pad I used Dove Dish Soap and warm water. After the second car I used Vinegar and Dove Dish Soap ( worked better for me then the soap and water ). I was on the third panel of the third car when I noticed this starting to happen. I use a compressor hose to clean off the pad after every panel. I am running at speed 5 on the DA. I did not catch any edges, panels or trim on the pads. I have two pads that this has happened to. Both of them Orange pads. I was using the Griots AIO. I am assuming that it is me and that the pads are good. Any idea of what I could be doing wrong ? Also I am very new to car detailing. Thank you for any help Pad Help Please-pad.jpg.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Pad Help Please-pad.jpg  

NorCal.. Avatar = Swan Lake, Hallstatt, Austria
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Pad Help Please

Fishing,
    Sorry these pads delaminated on you..

If you are using only 1-2 pads for the entire paintwork of 1-2 cars, it is amazing they held up as long as they did..

Random Orbitals are harder on pads because they are constantly jerking them around and trying to rotate them at the same time, so the pads get more heat and beat up, than using a direct drive on lower speeds..

I think you will have better results if you get a foam pad cleaner to clean pads; the one I use for over 15 years has never damaged a zillion pads in that time..
    Perhaps you used these pads so much they overheated too many times and that weakened the glue holding the backing enough that when you washed them it started pulling off.