Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

help deciding on camera for detailing pics

I am considering buying a DSLR camera to take good before and after photos of my work for my new detailing business. I am not experienced with high end digital cameras, and I think I need to start with something that will provide great pics but is fairly intuitive. I did some researching on the internet, and have come up with one option so far. The Canon Rebel xsi. Its going to be around $800-900 including a lens package and other needed items.

Any advice/feedback welcome

a.k.a. Troy@DetailCity Troy@Protekt's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: help deciding on camera for detailing pics

I use the Canon Rebel EOS Rebel XT. I love this camera. My only beef with it is it is big and not convenient to take places.

OK one more beef. You have to look through the view finder to take pics instead of use the LCD screen. I didn`t like that at all when I got the camera but I have grown used to it now.

Founder Poorboy's World Poorboy's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

No offense, but for that kind of money you can get some real good detailing equipment ... before and after pictures are nice for the hobbiest, but your professional reputation will be built on the actual work done and the service you provide your customers. An extractor, steam cleaner, ionizer, etc are good investments in a detailing business, not photography. Word of mouth is your best advertisement, just provide the best service and results and pictures can be your hobby.

If you have all of the above tools, never mind and I`ll jump off my soap box
    life is short ..do it while you can

e-mail info@poorboysworld.com

Post Thanks / Like

I think a nice all around camera is the Canon S5 IS. It is not a DSLR but is a super zoom type with a pop out LCD. It is under $250. It has very nice macro function (get very close) compared to many DSLRs