Post Thanks / Like

Review: Meguiars Ultimate Black Plastic Restorer

Hey all. Recently had the chance to use Meguiars Ultimate Black on a Porsche I did. The trim was pretty beat, so after a good cleaning I wanted to apply something that would bring life back to the trim and keep it that way. Normally I would turn to Wolfgang Exterior Trim Sealant or Ultima Tire and Trim, but unfortunately like an idiot, I forgot to include those in my detail bag before I left for the job, so on the way I picked up the Ultimate Black OTC. I’ve never used it before so I was curious to say the least. I know people like it, but I’ve never used it so I was open to try it!

Manufacturer claims:

Meguiar`s Ultimate Black Plastic Restorer brings new life to all exterior plastic, vinyl, and rubber trim such as bumpers, moldings, door handles, rear-view mirror housings and windshield cowlings. Utilizing break-through UV clear coat technology, Meguiar`s Ultimate Black Plastic Restorer significantly outlasts conventional protectants and trim care products. This durable formula dries almost instantly, is non-greasy and will not streak when treated surfaces get wet. With Meguiar’s Ultimate Black quickly make trim and plastic look-like new, create a rich darkness and shine, and provide outstanding, durable UV protection.

Products used:

Meguiars Ultimate Black
    CG NonSENSE APC to clean the trim
    Poly Foam Applicator for application

So this Porsche had two big dark box like trim pieces near the license plate. For my test area, I chose the one on the right side. For prepping the trim, first it got rinsless washed, then cleaned up further with CG NonSENSE apc. For application I chose a poly foam wax applicator. For this small area, I’d say I used about a dime sized drop of product, and that product could have easily covered the entire piece, it really spreads nice. The product itself has a nice creamy color and consistency, and you can tell a little goes a long way.