Got BASS...Will travel!!! MetalSludge's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Question about PC polisher

I have never used any kind of orbital polisher before and I was thinking of getting one. My only concern is I have a black truck and it looks pretty decent know due to many hours of work with PoorBoys SSR1 and Pro Polish to get 95% of the swirl marks and such out but I was told that I could get an awesome result and make it look 100 times better if I used something like a PC buffer on it. Well I have never used one and am scared to death to try it on black paint have never done it before. Is it really all that hard or am I over reacting to this.

Post Thanks / Like
    Fear not, Grasshopper. Read this and all that will be revealed. And yes, you must have one for a black vehicle.
    PC buffer article :headbang

Post Thanks / Like
    I already found that article ace and I got it printed out laying here beside me. I am still kinda skeptical on the whole deal after hearing horror stories after people like me who never used one before wound up with afterwords. What exactly is the big benifit to these over hand? And what are good products to use with it?
    Tommy
    2002 Ford Ranger
    I wanna go fishing now!!!!

Boss_429
    MetalSludge,

Don`t get the PC orbital buffer, and a rotary buffer confused. The PC orbital buffer is really safe, and would require complete mis-use of the tool to cause damage. It can be done, but it`s hard to do. On the other hand, a rotary buffer can do serious damage in a hurry when used improperly. The main thing with a PC, is getting some good pads, and keeping them in good shape.

Anyhow, the advantage of the PC is that it will "work" some light polishes, and cleaners a lot easier than by hand. Even though Poorboys polishes are quite easy to use by hand, a PC will make them even more efficent, and easier on the arms and shoulders.