Post Thanks / Like
    Product Review: HD Polish as it compares to Meguiars M205

Acknowledgements

Thanks to Tunch Goren at 3D Car Care for standing behind his products and offering to send out a free sample in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks to Dave Fermani at Autopia.org for organizing this exchange.

About the Reviewer

I’m a hobbyist detailer, so take my review for what it’s worth. I make a decent living as an engineer. I started detailing vehicles for money on weekends so I could subsidize my detailing product budget. I’m not interested in making detailing a career at this point.

This was my first time using HD Polish. I have used M205 on several different cars and in various weather conditions. Seeing as I am an amateur, if you read this review and have any comments on my technique, please feel free to share your thoughts with me.

Background

When I first got back into detailing last year, I purchased a 32-ounce bottle of Meguiars M205 because I read so many rave reviews for it. After my M205 purchase, I started reading a lot of positive reviews for HD Polish. I’m not unhappy with M205 at all, but like many other detailers out there, I am usually willing to try a new, similar product to see how it compares to what I’m currently using, in hopes of finding a better product.

The Test Car

A friend recently asked me to detail her metallic gray 2006 Scion TC. Notice the rock chips, light scratches, and water etching on her hood in the photo below. After going over the condition of her paint, her plans for the car, what she wanted to pay, and what she expected from the detail, we agreed a one-step polish was best. I told her I needed to review HD Polish, so I would 2-step her hood for free. I didn’t expect finishing polish to get rid of all of the imperfections in the paint, but I figured the hood was a great test area to see how much correction these two finishing polishes are capable of.

Products Used

• HD Polish (16 oz. bottle, free sample)