I do NOT have Mullet Dieselologist's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Dewaxing Before Swirl Removal??

I am new to using a DA Polisher for swirl removal/ paint correction. I own a bone stock 92 Z28, always garaged in the winter, except for last year when my teenage daughter totaled my DD, and the engine took a dump in my Suburban. The paint is original, and short of a few edges with the mid 90`s clearcoat flaking, is in very outstanding condition. I recently used a hand applicator to clean the paint with Meguiars #6, clayed the surface, then applied one coat of Meguiars NXT 2.0. The surface is smooth, and shiny, and I get compliments every weekend we take her out. My problem is the swirl marks, and of course some flaws in the factory paint that is 22 years old.
    I purchased a PC7424XP, and several pads, & Pinnacle XMT line of #1 & #3 Swirl remover, also the XMT Finishing Glaze through this sites store. My question is, do I need to dewax the surface, before I begin the process of swirl removal? I do not want to pack a pad with excessive wax residue and create more work for myself. Any input is appreciated.-Ron

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Dewaxing Before Swirl Removal??

I would, wax build up on your pads might cause you more problems than you need. Plus it might fill in the swirls making you think it`s corrected when really it`s not.
    Get your shine on!

Post Thanks / Like

Addicted answered your ??

BUT BE VERY CAREFUL NEAR THOSE CC CRACKS/PEEL

Do those areas LAST

and be real gentle around em. they may/could peel/crack more and then your dragging them all over paint surface
    Formerly the "Best Detailer", now just Super Wax Waster Man. Not necessarily tactful, but normally right. It`s good to be da King !!!

I do NOT have Mullet Dieselologist's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like