Post Thanks / Like

Question 5`` backing Plate for Griots

Hi, Newbie here in the near future i will be buying a Griots Polisher. I think from what i have bin reading the 6 `` Backing plate & 6 1/2`` pad that comes with the Griots is to big.
    I would like to also buy a 5`` backing plate. Would LC Backing plate be the best one to buy for Griots ? Can you switch pads from a different Co than LC to McGuire or Adams or any 5 1/2`` foam Velcro® brand hook & loop pads?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: 5`` backing Plate for Griots

I use an LC bp on my GG6.

anything with a 5/16th spindle will fit on the Griots, Megs or PC units...

You can also use any pads you want though it shouldn`t be too big or small for the bp i.e. use 5.5 inch pads for the 5 inch bp

AMG Classic Car Detailing Old Pirate's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to Autopiaforums Rockrash and yes go with the 5" Backing plate using the 5.5 pads and your dream of correcting the paint will freak you out ( in a good way ).
    AutopiaForums is the place to be.
    Remember to Shop Autopia-CarCare.com for your Detailing Needs!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Rockrash View Post
    Hi, Newbie here in the near future i will be buying a Griots Polisher. I think from what i have bin reading the 6 `` Backing plate & 6 1/2`` pad that comes with the Griots is to big.
    I would like to also buy a 5`` backing plate. Would LC Backing plate be the best one to buy for Griots ? Can you switch pads from a different Co than LC to McGuire or Adams or any 5 1/2`` foam Velcro® brand hook & loop pads?
    Welcome to AutopiaForums!

I don`t know if I would agree that 6 inch backing plate and 6.5 inch pads are too big. When I started with the PC (5 years ago or more) that was all there really was and it served many detailers well.