Post Thanks / Like

2 questions: Detailing Schools / First equipment purchase

Hello all! Been lurking for a few days, but can`t seem to find exactly what I need. I will be coming across some funds soon and want to start a mobile detailing business by building a van rig. Although as a firefighter we have pressure washed and thoroughly cleaned the interior of the cab/compartments/under cab/etc. I have no specific experience buffing/claying/ applying wax or with any of the other fun detailing stuff.
    So, for my first question...
    Do any of you have experience with detailing schools? I`ve been looking into the rightlook.com and detailking.com schools. Right look would be about 6 days and a couple of grand. My work schedule will be difficult to work around this. Detailking.com is only 2/3 days and 500/900 bucks, but they don`t seem to have that professional edge rightlook has presented themselves with.
    Any info on these schools, or alternatives, that you can provide would be appreciated!

And although I have gone through several posts, I can`t seem to find one addressing this specific question.
    If there was one KIT/item you should buy to start practicing on your own car so you can start developing detailing skills, what would it be? Buffing tools, pressure washer and clay? I would prefer this be one of the first steps of the detailing process that way I can simply take my car to a hand carwash and then start working on whatever detail process you all would suggest. Would this item have to be professional grade or recreational/weekend warrior stuff? I wouldnt mind shelling out the extra bucks on professional items considering in the long run I would be adding it to my mobile rig! So name dropping specific brands is recommended!
    Thanks again, guys. Looking forward to learning a lot from you.
    Tony

Post Thanks / Like

Re: 2 questions: Detailing Schools / First equipment purchase

Start out here
    Car Detailing How To Information