Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Do I need to step up my game?

Beginner here, just purchased the Meg`s DA machine. Trying to get a hang of this detailing thing and want to practice on my car, that by all means needs a new paint job. Anyways, tried getting this scratch out with a power setting of 5, w8207 pad and Meg`s UC. After a few passes, the surface feels great but this one is stubborn. Do I have a chance? Wrong technique? Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Do I need to step up my game?

Do you catch a nail on it when you glide over it? If so, you cannot remove.

If not, reduce the working area, go to a smaller pad, and use slower arm motions. Ensure not using so much pressure that the pad stops turning. Might even need a more aggressive pad/polish combo. Cutting MF pads do wonders.

Post Thanks / Like
    I barely catch, if it all. I`ve gone over it a half dozen or so times and it`s improved. I`m guessing UC with megs w9207 would be the next best option? Or a stronger compound with the pad I have already?

Opti Coat Pro Certified Orinda Auto Detail's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

what kind of car is it and what year?

Post Thanks / Like
    2003 Honda accord

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Scooter2525 View Post
    Beginner here, just purchased the Meg`s DA machine. Trying to get a hang of this detailing thing and want to practice on my car, that by all means needs a new paint job. Anyways, tried getting this scratch out with a power setting of 5, w8207 pad and Meg`s UC. After a few passes, the surface feels great but this one is stubborn. Do I have a chance? Wrong technique? Thanks!
    The Meguiar`s W8207 is Meguiar`s Soft Buff™ 2.0 Polishing Pad. What size pad are you using? From what I can tell these are available in 7" and larger pad sizes.