Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello, newbie here and need some advice.

Just bought my new baby, and I would like to keep her pristine. Unfortunately, I live in a condo, so regular washing with a bucket is not possible.

I have a few options - there`s a touchless gas station car wash down the street and I also bought some of that "Quick & Easy Wash" stuff. Will my car be clean if it gets just a steady dose of the "touchless" car wash? Should I use QEW instead? I do have a DIY place not too far away, but it`s in a less than stellar part of town and I`m a little hesitant about hanging out there for lengthy periods of time with a brand new bimmer.

What would you suggest?

Once I solve the problem above, I`m going to put some sealant on her in a few weeks. What should I use to make sure that all the old wax is gone-AIO will work, I presume? Anything equivalent available over the counter? I am willing to sacrifice a little result for ease of use.

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

TheDetailingHandBook.com Mikeyc's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes White, I too must disagree with you. It is possible to wash your car in an apartment/condo setting with a bucket. Read the links that Zippy posted. What I do is if the car is REALLY dirty, I`ll take it to the touchless wash. However, the touchless definitely doesn`t get all the dirt off. So, afterward I`ll use QEW to get the rest. If it`s not that dirty I go straight to QEW.

Post Thanks / Like
    I use the local touchfree frequently (silver paint). If the car is just "dusty," i.e. it`s been parking outside but not rained on or splattered, the touchfree will get most/all of the dust off. Once the dirt has been caked on with water, though, the touchfree will leave a film of dirt behind that has to come off with a hand wash. So, ironically, I end up using the touchfree more in summer, and handwashing more in winter.