Post Thanks / Like
    Hello, Im a newbie here.

I did some search on swirl marks and scratches and it seems like swirl marks can be cured.

Now my paint is in pretty rough shape when it comes to swirls. They are everywhere

I need to find the right products and tools to attack these swirl marks although I want to do my howework first so that I won`t damage the paint.

Here are some pics:

Notice the door ding!! (below)

Thanks detailing gurus

Post Thanks / Like
    u can definitly fix it up alot, nothing looks too deep and you could get that thing pretty shiny. dont know what products to go with but somone else can help u with that, deff repairable though
    04 pathfinder CarDomain page:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2430502

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome E300D,

I think there`s potential for significant improvement but I would say it would need to be done with a rotary polisher to help speed up the job. Those defects look pretty severe and regardless of what machines used, I don`t doubt it`s going to be an exhausting, time consuming project.

I couldn`t say for sure if everything would be removed but I know seasoned rotary users can seem to work near miracles.

Best of luck and nice to have you here :wavey
    Treat it like it`s the only one in the world.

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the input.

The previous owner, older gentelman....I have no clue where he washed that car It must have been some el-chepo wire brush carwash.

Its weird how he maintanined the car by the book (mechanical aspect), everything done on time, but the clear coat he just killed!!

Those swirl marks drive me insane!!

Post Thanks / Like
    Here`s an old E like yours that was in even worse shape. A PC buffer with Meg`s #80 made it look like new. Mercedes has softer paint so it`s easy to polish and also easy to swirl.

Post Thanks / Like
    Have a look at one of this months entrants to the May Xtreme Detail Contest http://autopia.org/forums/showthread...threadid=55237