Thread: Fading plastic

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Autopia!

I am a newbie here so I`m still a little new to detailing.

My car:

I drive a 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. I really really like that car. It does need a paint job and I knew it was going to need one when I first got it in 2003. It had 65K miles on it so it was a good buy.

My past detailing:

I usually use a claybar with the three step Meguires Wax/Polish and I loved the results. It made that nasty painy look good.

My main concern:

If you have seen a Grand Cherokee Laredo, you`ll notice the two tone statement. I love that gray plastic color, especially with my forest green paint. As I said above, the Jeep will get painted this summer. I want to make the plastic look brand new. It`s been through over ten years of sun and abuse (its great in tight parking spots). Is there any product that I could use to restore the color. I don`t care if I have to reapply every so often. I`ve used Stoner`s More Shine, Less Time but that`s expensive seeing as how much plastic is on my Jeep and it doesn`t last. Back to Black looks great, until it rains. I`ve heard something called Black Again or Forever Black. Any suggestions?

Carlo
    Jeep owner no more....

2006 Acura TL. Dark Blue/Tan

Post Thanks / Like
    I am not familiar with the Jeep but are we talking about painted plastic, if so I would start with something like Klasse AIO before trying an abrasive polish

Post Thanks / Like
    It`s not painted, its just plastic?

Jeep owner no more....

Post Thanks / Like
    I`ve had good luck with Poorboy`s Trim Restorer on my `81 Benz. I have not tried any others though. I had some black exterior plastic that was almost white from age and it turned it black. They are still glossy black after plenty of rain.

Post Thanks / Like