Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    I have been using clay for several years, but seems like it only "cuts" and "levels" paint surface.

It sure levels and makes the paint smooth as hell, but it doesnt clean the pollutant left inside the paint.

I have read a detailing book. A product from Japan called "Matex" which deep cleans pollutant off paint surface w/o any wiping. It is gentle and nontoxic.

You spray it on the paint surface and wait until it turns into purple color and just rinse it off. The surface becomes smooth and free from pollutant.

The book suggests using Matex instead of clay, since clay just cuts off whatever sticks out of the surface but the Matex deep cleans it.

Any one heard similar product before?

Post Thanks / Like
    MOD:

plz move this to Autopia University (AU) area. I didnt read the rule.sorry

Post Thanks / Like
    tedy- I`m not familiar with the Matex, but it sure sounds interesting. FWIW, if/when I feel the clay isn`t doing the job, I`ll use AutoInt`s ABC, which sounds similar (at least in concept).

But that is seldom an issue for me really- with a good coat of [whatever LSP] on the vehicle, contamination never really gets "into" my paint, it just gets into the LSP and is easy to clay away.

Post Thanks / Like
    This is my another question

http://www.autopia.org/forums/showth...threadid=41448

I dont want to use clay on LSP (sealant??) because it may strip sealant no matter how gentle I clay. If i use clay for once a week car wash, it totally defeats the purpose of using sealant.

Post Thanks / Like
    Clays should be used on an as needed basis not each week. Clays don`t provide any leveling effect they basically shear or pull off contaminants. There is a product called fall out remover that can be used instead of clay by a company called Mark V in Corona, CA. Be careful, it`s pretty strong stuff.

Post Thanks / Like
    I agree with Dennis H., but I`m only a noob, so what do I know.

Post Thanks / Like