Post Thanks / Like
    ok Im new to this and I wanta see if im getting everything i need! I am 15 years old and im looking to fix up my moms old 1987 BMW for when its mine.

I am going to buy the Porter Cable 7424 Ultimate Polisher so i can get everthing done with ease.

The car was neglected for 17 years and looks like crap. Swirl markd with lota scratches! I wanta get %95 of all this gone! and the rest the shop can do.

There are so many products to get and im not sure what to do! Would this work??

1) start of with Z1 ultra pant polish... the paint will look hazy after i do this but that is normal right?

2) ScratchX.....to get rid of the remaining scratches..... now would this be to agressive with the Z1? or should i give it ago with it??

3) Zainos Z5 polish.... I have heard only good things about this product and i think a couple coats of this would work fine.

4) Should i just put multiple coats of just the zainos or not?

5) What wax would u recomend to top it off?

6) and after i wax it I cant put more polish or any other cleaner/compound on right?

thanks!

i might think of some more questions later but these are the main ones

Perfectionist in Rehab Prometheus's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Im not too familiar with the 1Z products, so im not sure on that one, but SCratch x definately works. For another step, you may want to use some Megs #9 swirl remover just to remove the really fine stuff, as it will work really well with a PC. Zaino is kind of a personal thing. Most people either love it or hate it. Try it an see. Wax topper, everybody has an opinion. My favorite is Meg`s #16, but #26 is also good, as well as Poorboys EX-P (scottwax has some awesome pics of EX-P). You could stick with Zaino as a topper, or use some 1Z stuff. Pretty much, try some different things and see what you like. I like #16, kind of finiky to put on, but it looks awesome.