Post Thanks / Like
    Hello!

I`m new to the forum so a short introduction would be a good way to start . I`m a 23 year old student from Finland (the country where ice bears walk along the streets, you know ), I bought a Indie Blue/White Mini Cooper S a year ago. I really wasn`t that obsessed with car detailing before I got this car, A few coats of autoglym 3-4 times a year and I was happy with it...

Now, this car has turned me into something... I feel like I have a duty to keep my car as shiny as possible all the time. I wash the car 3-4 times a week and wax it at least, well once a month. The winter is a little bit more difficult because I don`t have a garage.

I`m trying to get a "perfect shine" and I have a few products that I have used but have not been perfectly pleased with the results. My car has an extremely soft paint (or clear coat, actually) and has lots of really light swirlmarks. My budget is kinda tight because I am a student and I bought a car that`s cost`s a lot more than I really can afford, I would like to use the stuff I allready have.

The stuff I have:

Waxes and polishes:

Meguiars Gold Class Clear Coat Paste Wax

Meguiars ScratchX

Meguiars #7 ShowCar Glaze

Meguiars #9 Swirl Remover

AutoGlym Super Resin Polish

AutoGlym Extra Gloss Protection

Eagle One WET Polish&Wax

+ A lot of dtergents, QD`s etc.etc.

What should I use, how and in which order?

Last time I waxed my car I used Meg`s #9 then Meg`s #7 and then I topped off with a coat of Gold Class Paste wax. And yes, the swirls were still wisible, the shine was quite good hovewer. I once buffed the whole car with ScratchX (phew!) and it actually reduced some of the swirls... Now they seem to be back though..

Please, give some advice!

Thank you & best regards,

Silli

The Old Grey Whistle Test togwt's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    :welcome to Autopia Silli

~One man’s opinion / observations ~

1. Machine polish:

Meguiars ScratchX

2. Wax / Glaze:

Eagle One WET Polish&Wax