Post Thanks / Like
    Hello, my first post, i am really new at car detailing but i really want to keep my car as good looking as i can get it.

i had a question that i posted on a different forum and i did not get much help, but was refered to this site. any help would be greatly appreciated.

here is my story, i have had my silver gen 5 camry for about 2 months now and i have been hand washing and occasionally taking it to the automatic ones, (not the gas stations ones) it at least once every two weeks. however, i have not waxed it yet, unless the wax from the car wash counts.

recently, i noticed small specs on the back of my bumper, ther are really small and orange rust-like in colour and i thought, ****!!! rust already? i bought meguiar`s step one Deep Crystal Paint Cleaner which is suppose to prep the car and clear it of contaminants correct? but i also have a meguiar`s clay ball. i have never done anything like this before so i need help as to how about going through step by step.

1) hand wash and dry with Zip Wax.

2) meguiar`s clay ball

3) step 1 Deep Crystal Paint Cleaner

4) zaino wax (3 coats/1application)

my question are as follows

a) how do i use the clay ball and do i do it on the whole surface of the car or just where i see imperfections?

b) when using the claybar, should i see the specs of "rust" dissapear off my paint finish?

c) do i use the step one deep crystal pain cleaner on the whole surface of the car?

d) do i need to use meguiar`s step 2 Deep Crystal Polish after the deep crystal paint cleaner, then apply the zaino?

again, your help is much apprieciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    camryKev - Welcome to Autopia. I can`t really comment on the Meg`s Deep Crystal and Z stuff as I`m not that familiar with them, but what I CAN comment on:

*I`d* use a wash with greater lubricity than the Zip Wax. *I* used to get wash-induced swirls with that stuff.