Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    ive heard it is very hard to remove swirls without a PC/buffer. i am a beginner and have some 3M SMR and i dont know if i can use it successfully. anyone have any tips?
    95 Black Integra GSR

Post Thanks / Like
    3M SMR by hand will remove the finest of the smallest and most minimal swirls if you work it in very throughly.

Autopian Whistler may comment on this. He had a thread about hand polishing his Mustang with 3M Fine Cut Rubbing Compound and 3M SMR.

As far as tips. Read the forums and search teh archives for hand polishing. Scottwax had some nice write ups about polishing by hand.

It also depends on the swirls. If they are deep then get ready to rub and rub. If they are light expect some rubbing but not as much as heavy swirls.

oh btw, where in NJ are you?

Hope this helps

Jason

Post Thanks / Like
    get a PC. You`ll probably induce more scratches/marring trying to remove the swirls by hand....like I did when I started . The PC is my best purchase by far for detailing equipment. Well, the creeper seat and worklight are must haves also.
    `04 Steel Gray Metallic Mazda 6s V6 5door, `97 Honda Accord SE

Post Thanks / Like
    thanks. see, im not sure how to rub and how much to rub and how ard t orub..i need someone to show me. i am actually not too far from staten island...i am maybe 15 mins away from the goethals bridge. that connects elizabeth and SI, right? haha
    95 Black Integra GSR

Post Thanks / Like
    heh, anyone in jersey have a pc and wanna show me how to do the SMR?
    95 Black Integra GSR

Post Thanks / Like
    And I`m another 20-25 minutes away from the goethals bridge.

Well I`m around Old Bridge NJ most of the time, My PC will be back in my hands within 2-3 weeks. I have my new Makita rotary polisher and did some more experimenting with it today.