Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    I may have to wet sand my plastic headlights, so I have some questions.

1. If the scratches aren`t deep, but cannot be removed by just a polish, what grit sandpaper should you use?

2. How much pressure should be applied when you sand the headlights?

3. After you are done I hear the plastic is supposed to be hazy, can I use Novus scratch remover (which I already have) to remove the hazyness, or do I need a completely new product?

4. Can I actually make my headlights worse than before I started if im new at sanding?

5. Where do you find this kind of sandpaper (whats stores commonly have them?)

If you know any links to places that have a tutorial on it or whatever, feel free to post it

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like
    Sorry I`ve never done it, but just remember the old advice to just start off mild and increase strength if that doesn`t get you anywhere.

You can find 3M sandpaper in small sheets at the automotive body repair section of Canadian Tire. Grits go as fine as 2000 I think.

Oh I'll Bring the Shizzle Nagchampa's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Don`t forget to use soapy water when wetsanding!
    "Never walk into an environment and assume that you understand it better than the people who live there." - Kofi Annan after his first frigid Minnesota winter

Post Thanks / Like
    Take a piece of 2000 grit sandpaper and water rub the lenses thoroughly, then dry them. Once dry, take a buffer and some rubbing compound and polish a shine back into them, and if you want, you can put some wax on them for a finshing touch. I have done this to taillights, headlights, park lamps, corner lenses, and the lights have always looked like new by the time I finished.

You can get the sandpaper from a paint and body supply store.:xyxthumbs

Post Thanks / Like
    Whats a good rubbing compound and polish that I can buy in stores? Do I need a buffer, cause I don`t got one