Post Thanks / Like
    Hi, i`ve been lurking around in this fourm for a while now and have found it to be a wealth of information. I am new to this detailing thing and don`t plan to start a business, so please excuse my ignorance.

Recently, I purchase a silver toyota matrix and am curious as to the proper way to take care of it. The car is mostly parked outside and is a daily driver.

As of right now, I have put on

1 coat of Mequires "deep crystal series" polish

2 coats of mequires "deep crystal series" wax (with 1 week to cure inbetween coats)

I`m doing everything by hand so...

1) when I put on the polish I try to rub it in as much as possiable, but looking at the demo clips of people using the pc`s I see that they buff it to the point where the polish starts dissapearing? Am I supposed to do the same when I polish by hand?

2) when applying the wax, I sometimes get wax on the trim pieces (in my case the mud flaps, which are made of a smooth black plastic) what is the best way to get this stuff off?? I know dishwashing detergent will prob strip it failry good, but if I drip it on the car then I`m going to have no wax on the car either.

3) I`m in the Vancouver B.C (canada) area, and currently winter is approaching fast, so I don`t think i`ll have too much more time to work on the car this year. I was thinking next summer I`ll try something to give it more shine... how would this sound?

1)wash car (i`m currently zip wax by turtle wax just because I have lots of it)

2) polish car with mequires "show car glaze"

3) mequires hi-tech yellow wax (2 coats with 1-2 days inbetween to cure)

4) S100 (1 coat the next day)