Post Thanks / Like
    ive been reading topics of bird droppings etching the clear coat and stuff. so i was jsut wondering where i can find a good magnifier that ill actually let me see the clear coat close enough to tell if its cracked/damaged even if it feels ok to the touch.

also, does anyone know why smaller and more diluted bird droppings that leave a small stain on the paint seem to disappear over time? its like the moment u get it off u know its stained the clearcoat or even further in and it seems theres no way to pull it out. but after a few days of driving it disappear completely.

Post Office Box 9 Newbury, OH 44065 AIM:YoSteveDotCom
    Post Thanks / Like
    there`s 30X lighted one (I believe) at radio shack
    Pay Attention Klasse!

2000 Satin Silver Passat GLX

Wash This Way

Post Thanks / Like
    so can anyone explain about the bird stain disappearing?

Post Thanks / Like
    Im no expert so this is a guess. Mabee the crap left some resudues like a water spot leaves calcium deposites when it dries, that after a while, begin to come off. A total guess. just make sure to get them off ASAP with some QD and to treat the area w/ some alchohol like ron said to prevent further damage.

Post Thanks / Like
    My guess is that the bird droppings do not harm the clear coat initially, just the wax layer and after a few days, the heat smooths out the wax layer (or polymer layer).

I`ve heard about this and seen it for my self. I had just washed my car and saw what looked like a water spot on my hood.

QD would not remove it. Neither would Meguair`s cleaner/wax. So, I went and got vinegar to see how that would do.

By the time I went to use the vinegar and water, the mark was gone. Disappeared. Can`t explain it.

The only thing I can think of is if the clearcoat was harmed, it would not disappear.

Brian

Post Thanks / Like
    Hey, think about it. There was water present, of course what you don`t know is what was in the water.