Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

How safe is it to use Cleaner Wax often?

So I recently moved to Florida and got a new car (Honda Fit). I’m a full time musician and don’t have a huge income and I use this car for everything I do. I plan on having it for awhile. So as you can imagine I want to keep it nice.

It rains a ridiculous amount here. Sometimes a few times a day. I can’t always go and dry it off. I use ultimate wax and have the waterless wax too but sometimes it just bakes on practically. I’ve been told by some people to use a 3-in-1 like Meguiars 3-in-1 which I bought to fix some swirls and I did two small coats and got the car looking awesome. I was super gentle and went by hand, and really the swirls didn’t come out too much if at all but seem less noticeable.

Some people have told me you could do this practically weekly by hand for years and almost no paint loss will happen. Others including a dude at a local auto shop chain told me twice a year and I could ruin the paint. I’m trying to find some truth here. If I did this a handful of times a year especially during rainy season, over a decade or more, am I removing an amount of paint that is bad?

wannafbody
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: How safe is it to use Cleaner Wax often?

Won`t hurt a thing

Post Thanks / Like

Won’t let me edit my post but this was my method. Wash, clay, light coat of 3-in-1 by hand moderate fingertip pressure in swirls. I don’t push too hard. Is this actually removing microns over time or is that only with machines? Should I ditch the cleaner wax or go to a lighter grade cleaner wax?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by wannafbody View Post
    Won`t hurt a thing
    Logically I feel that’s true considering I know using a pad with a buffer removes a micron or so, so there’s no way my hand could be doing anywhere near that.

Post Thanks / Like

Simple answer... Probably nothing to worry about. Go ahead and use it as often as you`d like.

Detailers answer...