Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Time to upgrade my polisher. Advice needed.

I`m in the midst of doing a job for my neighbor and finding I may not have been as well equipped for the work as I thought.

First lesson: I may need to learn how to use MF cutting pads. My orange LC pads aren`t cutting it, but that`s a different story for another time....

The real discussion is about my polisher. My 9 year old Harbor Freight polisher seems to be really struggling with more difficult work. I`m running it at full speed all the time right now and can`t help but wonder if a more powerful polisher would make the work easier. Better ergonomics alone would be a bonus.

Since I am still a hobbyist at heart who only does a few cars a year, I`m looking at the G9. Is that enough of an upgrade of should I look at another step up to something like the G15? I really don`t want to spend Flex or Rupes money at this point.

The upside of the G9 would be using my current inventory of LC pads with the 5" backing plate whereas I don`t even know which size type of pads I`d be looking at with the G15.

Thanks for any advice.

On a parting note I find it interesting the G15 is substantially cheaper at Griots direct vs Autopia right now. Autogeek must be sold out as it doesn`t appear there.
    Drop by to see the latest at The Car Geek Blog
    Likes Stokdgs liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Time to upgrade my polisher. Advice needed.

I can`t speak for the G9, but I do have one of the the G8s......really like it. Ergonomics alone would be enough of un upgrade. Couple that with more power and a lifetime warranty....and I think your decision is an easy one. For the amount you`re using your DA, I don`t really see the need for a long throw.

Post Thanks / Like

In which way is your current polisher struggling?