Post Thanks / Like

Polishing repainted car

Just got my car back from a minor parking lot incident. I noticed a few buffer trails on the new painted fender. Is it safe for me to polish the new paint or should I wait? Total newb in this area. Fender was repainted about 10 days ago. Also how long should I wait before adding an LSP? Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Polishing repainted car

You`re fine to polish with any body shop safe polish, but ask the painter how long to wait until waxing. It`s usually 30 - 90 days.

Post Thanks / Like

Fresh repaints are generally pretty soft during the curing process, which always takes at least 90 days IME. Adjust product/etc. accordingly as needed and you oughta be fine. IF you can`t get it to not micromar, wait a while and see if it gets better. (If the paint turns out stupid-soft after 90 days I`d be, uhm... having a talk with the painter.)

The Paint Manufacturers generally say to wait 90 days before LSPing (or did the last time I checked), and I always wait that long before using things like FK1000P. But Optimum Car Wax is tested/approved for use on "post-production paintwork" and is fine for this (I`ve used it within days of the painting and the paint cured fine with it). OCW has basically replaced the old "Glaze approach" IMO, and offers much better durability and protection. Even a really little bottle will be enough if only using it for this.
    Likes SWETM liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

IMHO I`d wait at least 30 days before polishing the buffer trails off a newly painted area.
    This usually gives the paint enough time to gas and cure.

Short Version: I know it`s driving you nuts but I`d suggest waiting for another few weeks before polishing.

AMiracleDetailing.com
    YouTube - Facebook - Instagram
    Likes SWETM liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

You can polish at any time. The body shop themselves wet sand and compound the painted area. In some cases the paint is baked out to some degree.