Post Thanks / Like

Painter`s Tape "Ghosts" on car door. Removal?

A couple of weeks ago I ran my first autocross event. Since I was a total novice simply trying out the sport/hobby I used blue painter`s tape on my doors for my number and class. I used the 3M variet with the "lower adhesive" since I didn`t want to have all sorts of tape adhesive left on the car after removal. I numbered up my car in the morning and removed the tape as soon as the event was over 8-ish hours later. The car was clean when the tape was applied/removed and I thought nothing of it. I did see a little dust on the door which collected around the edges of the tape, but the area under the tape appeared to be pretty clean.

Due to work travel and weather, I wasn`t able to wash the car until this weekend. After a couple of weeks of driving in the rain and windy/dusty harvest season air I noticed dirt clinging to the areas where they numbers were applied which made them re-appear. I had a little chuckle and simply washed the car thinking all was well and the residue would be gone. However, after the wash I wiped down the car with Gyeon Prep in order to apply a second layer of CanCoat and I noticed portions of the numbers appearing AGAIN as I was doing the wipe-down. Prep was not removing whatever residue was still on the door. I stepped back and wiped down the door with an APC, and then AGAIN with Prep. I believe that finally removed all the residue.

Going forward until I get magnetic numbers, what is the best way to deal with this "invisible" residue? Since I was using a very low adhesive tape which was only on the car for a few hours, I never expected the problems I encountered. I really don`t want to use an adhesive remover which would degrade the coating, and based on this last experience I don`t think a waterless wash/QD is strong enough. APC worked, but left a cloudy residue on the surface which took another product to remove.

Post Thanks / Like