Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Applied a coating for the first time with mixed results (long post)

I have a small bottle of Gtechniq Exo that I was eager to try on my VW GTI. Despite a day and a half of prep work, and careful application, The results were a bit mixed, and I can see some light streaks in the finish. In a few spots, I can see what looks like wax or polish residue that hasnt been wiped away. I`m assuming that I didnt fully remove the coating in these spots. I`m confident these aren`t swirls, but they cant be polished out with a MF at this point. Obviously, this isn`t permanent, and can be polished out and redone, but the streaks are a bit frustrating none the less. What`s odd is that in strong direct light, it looks quite good, but with a little bit of shade the streaks start to become visible. I`m guessing to really fix it, I will have to polish that section, or panel, down and re apply.

Any suggestions or hints are appreciated as this is my first time doing this. In addition, I found that in the prep process, some swirls absolutely did not want to come out, despite trying different products, pads, speeds, etc. The panels that had been repainted corrected much easier than those that had original factory paint. I got it `ok` by my standards, but had to move on at some point.

Here is the preparation process I used, feel free to skip this part. (car is a 2013 Carbon Steel Grey VW GTI):

A) 2 bucket wash, then dry inside the garage with Griots PFM towel
    Meguiars clay bar with Megs QD for lube
    C) Polishing took two days. The second day I rewashed the car with ONR before resuming work.
    I tried different things depending on the condition. Everything was done with a PC 7424, and I did a panel wipe after each attempt.
    All work was done in a totally dark garage, with two bright daylight color LED lights on a stand to check my work
    1) Speed 4 with LC white pad and Sonax EX04-06 for really light defects.