Post Thanks / Like

I am new to detailing and as someone once told me "A little knowledge is dangerous". I am detailing a 16 year old black Dodge 2500 Ram diesel pickup with approximately 300,000 miles. The truck has not been neglected but not treated as well as many of you keep your daily rides. My plan is to first clay the truck then use Wolfgang`s Uber Compound followed by Wolfgang`s Finishing Glaze followed by Wolfgang`s Deep Gloss Paint Sealent then possibly apply two coats of carnauba wax ( P21S). I will using a Porter Cable DA for all the work but the waxing stage. Finally, I will get to my question is ABCing necessary and if so which brands do you recommend?Thanks for you help.

Post Thanks / Like

shooter112- Welcome to Autopia!

`

"ABC" is a brandname, it`s the decontamination system sold by ValuGard.` While I`m a big proponen of the stuff, and I would use it, NO it`s not absolutely mandatory unless there`s a significant contamination issue, stuff that needs to be neutralized as opposed to merely cleaned off (as with clay).` So while it`s arguable that you probably should use the ABC, it`s not like you have to for things to turn out OK.

`

BTW, I wouldn`t do the sealant + wax combo, I`d just pick one product and use it by itself.` And FWIW#2, on a black truck I`d want something that lasts a really, *really* long time.

Post Thanks / Like
    16 years old and that big, unless you are skipping your cross fit class (lol) I would just keep it easy. Wash, clay, 3D Adapt or Meg`s D300, and a decent sealer.
    All I have in this world is my word, and my balls and I don`t break `em for no one, you understand?"

Post Thanks / Like