Post Thanks / Like
    My car has good amount of rust under body.

Main body hasn`t been rusted anywhere & while driving also it`s smooth (no noise).

I am planning to fix the rust at home only. (novice here)

I checked VHT rust converter on Amazon which will convert rusted areas to black.

After brushing/sanding, should I just spray that where ever needed (except wheels)?

What about wheels? Does it look like Stainless steel?

I have to remove wheels & remove rust.

Will rust-oleum clear spray be effective?

Post Thanks / Like
    Take a wire brush and scrub those rusted areas really good to remove anything that will flake off. Then spray them down with multiple light coats of the rust converter. Wait at least 24 hours and then spray some good primer over the rust converter (2 part epoxy primer would be best). The wheels are not stainless, just plain steel. Do the same process on the wheels and then follow up with a couple coats of silver wheel paint, as you will have spots of primer after you take care of the rust. Don`t spray anything on the exhaust as it will become a fire hazard.

I`ve never used VHT, but I`ve used a couple of the products that Eastwood sells with pretty good results. You want to primer over the spots after you spray the rust converter on them, because I have found that if you don`t, it will start to rust again after a while. Epoxy primer is the best since it has good rust prevention capabilities. Something like lacquer primer would just rust right through again.

There`s also an auto body section on the forum. You may get more responses if you post this there as well.
    Rich Grasa

Pro Mobile Detailing based in New Milford, CT

www.explicitdetails.com

Post Thanks / Like