Post Thanks / Like
    `07 Audi A4, the driver seat had what appeared to be dirt right under where your butt would be. Took some Meg`s leather cleaner and started wiping a pot with medium pressure and up came the dye. This is the first time something like this has ever happened and I`m trying to figure out what to tell the customer. I don`t know if he bought this car new or used, but I`m thinking it was redyed at some point and what appeared to be dirt was the dye fading and when I rubbed it, it just came all the way up. Hopefully this pic tells the story, the spot is about an inch long. Can this be fixed and if so, for about how much? It looks worse in person and I am sick to my stomach now because of it.

Rich Grasa

Pro Mobile Detailing based in New Milford, CT

www.explicitdetails.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Do you like to do it yourself?

I can help. . .

Roger Koh

info@leatherdoctor.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Roger, but I have never done anything like that before so I don`t want this customer`s car to be my guinea pig. He was pretty upset when he saw it. I ate the cost of the full detail and gave him contact info for an auto leather shop near where he lives. I will probably pick up the cost of that too, or at least split it with him. He was very appreciative that I would do that.

Can anyone tell me what I can expect the cost of that repair to be?
    Rich Grasa

www.explicitdetails.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Those kinds of things really suck, but they can be corrected with redying. Leather Dr. (Roger) can certainly help.

I suggest everyone read this article about this subject:

http://www.autopia.org/forum/guide-d...p-leather.html
    Metro Detroit`s leader in cleaning, preserving & perfecting fine automobiles!

Post Thanks / Like
    The minimum cost woul be $150/- (that`s only for spot touch-up and if color match well).

Luster is also a consideration - and that this is achieve with going over the entire panel (extra cost).