Post Thanks / Like
    Deep Car Scratch Repair Kit: See Video

I have one scratch that is a little deep, tiny spot is into the primer and a few chips are into the primer. It looks like this would work well but I have no experience with repairing scratches yet. I have a beater I could practice on but check out these. These 3 are the worst I have.

1) Thought on the quarter panel scratch / slight spot down to primer

2) Thought on lower sail panel area nice size chip

3) Thought on slight chips along door edge, I guess previous owner had something getting caught there in the door. eh.

4) I also have a chip where previous owner tried to repair theirself, its not the same color arctic white and the chip isnt repaired up to the surface, I guess I should just fill over it then touch up? Maybe wet sand around it to make sure all previous touch up paint is removed cause its kinda sloppy.

The Old Grey Whistle Test togwt's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    A surface scratch that will `catch` your fingernail is approximately 0.04 Mil (1.0 µ) deep will usually require wet sanding and the clear coat refinishing Removing a scratch requires removing the layer of paint that contains the defect; you need to level the paint to the lowest point of the scratch. Removing more that 0.5 mil (12µ) of clear coat will cause premature paint film failure as UV protection percolates to the top of the clear coat.Check paint film thickness with a Paint Thickness Meter (PTG) before you attempt to remove

As you go over a deep scratch, the abrasives round off the edges of the high spots of the scratch. The result is a shallower scratch (when no full correction can be made) rounded edges don’t reflect light the same way a sharp edge will and is therefore less noticeable.