Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    So I`ve had my car for 3.5 weeks now and have given it about 4 or 5 washes since I`ve been layering on KSG. Everything looks great in the sunlight except the B pillars. They are already showing swirls. I have read that the B pillars on my car scratch up easily.

1) My question is if I use abrasive products on B pillars to remove the swirls, is the plastic going to be okay? I am still new to detailing and from my understanding, abrasive products remove some of the clear coat taking swirls along with them. I am not 100% sure but I don`t think there is clear coat on my B pillars (could be totally wrong).

2) I`m going to be more careful washing the B pillars from now on and I`m wondering if KSG would help protect the plastic B pillars like it would help protect paint.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by flickshake
    1) My question is if I use abrasive products on B pillars to remove the swirls, is the plastic going to be okay? I am still new to detailing and from my understanding, abrasive products remove some of the clear coat taking swirls along with them. I am not 100% sure but I don`t think there is clear coat on my B pillars (could be totally wrong).

Generally, you can polish them but not too much. Whether pigmented plastic or (especially) "wrapped" with a black, adhesive-backed film, the plastic is often quite thin and fragile, and if you get too aggressive you`ll mess it up.

The vinyl wrapped pillars on my MPV (I thought they were single stage paint for a long time, but no...) withstood two very gentle polishings (3M PI-III Machine Glaze 05937 on a gentle pad with virtually zero pressure) before they started to become compromised.

The plastic "B" pillars on our Audis have been polished a few times and they`re still OK, but I don`t obsess over trying to keep them perfect as I sure don`t want to replace them.