Post Thanks / Like
    Hi all. I`ve read through much of the forum this morning and so far have not been able to find the answers to 2 questions. I`m a complete newbie to car care and in the past have always just gone to regular car washes and never done any sort of waxing, etc... But now I have a nice, new, black, Audi Q5 and would like to take better care of it. That being said, while I understand I should do this all myself if possible, and that going to a car wash/detail center is not always the best idea, I don`t really have the ability/inclination to do much of this myself as I live in an apartment building with a crowded, indoor parking garage (and am just not that comfortable doing it myself anyway).

I`m just looking for something that will help keep my new car nice and shiny and help protect it from the elements. I don`t need my car looking perfect week-in and week-out, but every few months I`d like to do `something`...

I apologize in advance for my long post, and here are my 2 questions:

1. After doing anything to a car in the way of waxing, clear coat protecting, etc... does it then HAVE to be re-applied every x weeks/months or else the car starts looking worse than it had before anything was done? In other words, by doing any of these things to a car, does the car start to look `dull` as the product wears off? Or does it simply go back to looking `normal` as if nothing was ever done? I would prefer to do something every few months w/o worrying that the car will look `bad` if I don`t maintain it in between.