Post Thanks / Like
    I searched for a good half and hour and couldn`t find the answer I was looking for, I am interested in purchasing this kit,

Porter Cable 7424 & Foam Pad Kit - Car Buffer

but am at a loss as to which pads to choose? I am a complete beginner to using a machine, my car is loaded with swirls but other than that is in really good shape for a 96 camaro. I was planning on using menzerna 106 nano polish, but was going to get the next step up just in case (I forget exactly which it is), then seal with UPGP and top with something like natty blue.

If you were starting over, which pads would you start with?
    1996 Z28 A4 - Stock : (

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Post Thanks / Like
    More importantly than brand is the size of the pad. I would not go 6.5 with the PC, especially since your car is loaded w/swirls. 4 inch to cut and no bigger than 5.5 to finish.

Post Thanks / Like
    I use Uber pads from Detailed Image. 5.5 inch. Work great for me.

Post Thanks / Like
    And if they`re 1" pads forget about it..............
    Owner of West Coast Detail Supply.

Light travels faster then sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

Post Thanks / Like
    I was asking about specifically which type, in this case orange, yellow, green, etc... I would rather double up on what I will probably use a lot than have 1 of everything

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by JustinL67
    I was asking about specifically which type, in this case orange, yellow, green, etc... I would rather double up on what I will probably use a lot than have 1 of everything

Get some orange pads for serious correction.

I`d skip the yellow foam cutting pads, preferring PFW if the orange isn`t aggressive enough (big "if" when you`re just starting out IMO).

There are too many different green pads for me to keep them all straight, but you`ll need to find the right polishing pads, regardless of color, for your paint.