Post Thanks / Like
    I would like to have a go at wetsanding my hood as I suspect it`s been repainted (bought the car used) and the orange peel is terrible. I have some experience in wetsanding which I do when I touch up my paint chips.

I have a question about the actual process. I`ve heard it is a good idea to take off the edges of the hood as the paint is really thin in those areas and I easily risk taking off the clear entirely. I`ve also heard that I should use a sanding block. Now the problem is my hood (and probably all hoods) are not exactly flat and I also have some subtle styling lines and edges on it. I was wondering how I am suppose to go over them with the sanding block or should I risk just sanding my hood completely by hand?

Thanks,

Brandon

Post Thanks / Like
    Good idea is to ask bufferbarry he wet sands often.
    04 cobra mystichrome Sold new home in AZ.

Post Thanks / Like
    I`m no pro but I have wetsanded a few cars with bad orange peel. You are going to need some flexible sanding blocks and good paper. ADS sells both of these. I`d also get a test panel from a junkyard to practice on. If the orange peel is really bad, you may only be able to make it a bit better. As far as the edges, you should be more carful around them and sand almost to the edge, but not the edge itself.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by StriderTacticaL
    I was wondering how I am suppose to go over them with the sanding block or should I risk just sanding my hood completely by hand?

Brandon,

Never by hand, always with a sanding block. The sanding block keeps the paper perfectly flat for a more precise cut. You will have fewer deep sanding scratches to remove and the overall result is better. It`s safer, too.

Be sure to pre-soak your paper in water for 20-30 minutes. This softens the paper to prevent scratching.

Put a small amount of car wash soap in your water bucket. A few drops is enough. This provides more lubrication.