Post Thanks / Like
    I am detailing a 2009 audi A4 S4 tomorrow and I am pretty sure that it has black b-pillars (correct me if im wrong), but when i tried to polish the swirls out of my car, the b-pillars got really hazy. Was I using too harsh of a compound? I used scratchx (old version) on an orange 4 inch LC pad on speed 3-4 with a PC. What would be the correct method to do this and how harsh of a compound do i need to use? Also, should I do an IPA wipe down (50/50 mixture) on this car? It is my first time doing this, so should i experiment with my car first then do it on customer`s cars?

Post Thanks / Like
    I typically use P085RD on a finishing pad, or Lime Prime. I always do an IPA wipe down to prevent the possibility that your polish filled light swirls, or hologramming. It would be a very bad thing to leave on a car.

Post Thanks / Like
    Im not doing a full detail. He just wants a wash, wax and for me to clean up the interior a bit. Thank you for the input though, I will need to invest in that next time I order anything.

Post Thanks / Like
    so are you asking a question about your car or the audi? Generally, the painted sections of a B pillar can be taped up and tackled with a medium/light polish, preferabbly with a small polishing pad. The paint is different than the rest of the panels and should be treated a little differently IMO. I have similar panels on my GTI. Even hand polishing with an AIO would be a good idea. They`re usally pretty easy to clean up and end up looking new again. Don`t go harsh on these or any other painted pieces that are different than the main body panels.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by dublifecrisis