Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bug problem

Post Thanks / Like
    Hey guys lately ive been noticing theres been ALOT of these tiny bugs on my car. They look like termites, but kinda smaller and more of a tan color (im no bug expert). They also only show up around rubber mouldings. Today I washed the car pretty good, and it sat in the garage for about 20 minutes, go back to check on it and the same bugs are still there. Now for them to even get up there they would have to go through the tires and suspension before they got to the actual body. I also saw a huge pack on my front bumper too, and they were carrying something Ive just been swatting them away with a MF since I know bug spray will probably mess up my paint. Im pretty convinced that theyre probably living in my car as I dont think they can make it to where they are in that short amount of time. Should I have the garage fumigated or how have you guys dealt with this?

Post Thanks / Like
    Sounds like you may have ants.

I had a company van that had a pretty bad case of the small black ants. If you watched them they were following their chemical trail through the vehicle. I bought some Terro liquid ant killer from Home Depot and placed it in the van in a few different locations. This seemed to work well as the ants were gone in a day or two.

Good luck with ridding your vehicle of the pests.

Post Thanks / Like
    If these are showing up in your garage I`d make darn sure they aren`t termites because if they are you`ve got a potentially big problem. Put a couple in a small Ziploc plastic bag then compare them to pictures of termites on the internet.

Once you rule them out as termites a quick fix might be to remove your cars and use an insect fogger that you set off in a closed area and leave it closed for several hours. That should immediately kill any insects that are alive in the garage.