Post Thanks / Like
    I have never used clay before, everyone can`t say enough about it. Can claying create new scratches? I know that I use it after the wash but do I do my entire car to ensure it is fully prepped for cleaner/sealant? Or, do people not clay the entire car?

My thought is that clay will trap dirt or contaminants that will stay in the clay. then when you continue to use the clay it will allow whatever is trapped to scratch the surface you moved to. Am I way off on this one?

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by magnum

My thought is that clay will trap dirt or contaminants that will stay in the clay. then when you continue to use the clay it will allow whatever is trapped to scratch the surface you moved to. Am I way off on this one?

Your thought is accurate which is why you should constantly monitor your clay as you are working to pick out any contaminants and re-roll / flatten the clay..

To answer your other question the entire vehicle exterior should be clayed as needed. Get a platic bag, put it over your hand and gently swipe it on the cleansed paint, if you feel roughness it needs to be clayed

Post Thanks / Like
    You are not way off ... you are right to be thinking about this. :think2

As your clay surface picks up contaminants, continually fold/knead the clay to expose a clean surface. After a certain number of uses, even this process won`t allow you to create a clean clay surface and you should delegate that clay for the trash can, or maybe for glass or wheels.

If you ever drop a piece of clay bar, do not try to salvage it for use as you`ll never get out all the grit.

Post Thanks / Like
    You should clay your whole car if it needs it. One good way to tell if every area needs it is, place a plastic sandwich bag over your hand. Then run your hand over you ALREADY WASHED car surface. You will be able to feel the roughness and the grittiness on the paints surface if there are contaminants.